Live updates from trial of former Governor Bob McDonnell
CONTEST: Final chance to enter Priority Automotive CBS 6 $600 Gas Card Giveaway

Do you have questions about Henrico’s meals tax vote?

Meals Tax

HENRICO COUNTY, Va. (WTVR) – This fall Henrico County voters will help decide if the county will add a 4 percent meals tax to your restaurant bill. The meals tax referendum vote will be taken Election Day Nov. 5.

County Manager John Vithoulkas will lead a series of public meetings leading up to the vote.

“We want residents to be fully aware of the meals tax referendum before they cast their vote on November 5th,” Vithoulkas said in a statement. “To that end, we are committed to meeting with residents face to face to explain the proposal and answer their questions.”

Henrico meals tax referendum meetings

Date Location Address
Wednesday, Sept. 18, 7 p.m. Deep Run High School 4801 Twin Hickory Rd.
Monday, Sept. 30, 7 p.m. Henrico High School 302 Azalea Ave.
Monday, Oct. 14, 7 p.m. Highland Springs High School 15 S. Oak Ave.
Wednesday, Oct. 16, 7 p.m. Hermitage High School 8301 Hungary Spring Rd.
Thursday, Oct. 17, 7 p.m. Tucker High School 2910 Parham Rd.
Monday, Oct. 21, 5:30 p.m. Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden 1800 Lakeside Ave.
Wednesday, Oct. 23, 7 p.m. Glen Allen High School 10700 Staples Mill Rd.
Monday, Oct. 28, 7 p.m. Varina High School 7053 Messer Rd.
Tuesday, Oct. 29, 7 p.m. Freeman High School 5701 Three Chopt Rd.
Wednesday, Oct. 30, 7 p.m. Godwin High School 2101 Pump Rd.

The county said the proposed 4 percent meals tax would help raise $18 million a year. County leaders said without the meals tax, the county would need to raise money another way — possibly by raising Henrico’s real estate tax.

The county estimated 40 percent of the potential meals tax money would come from people who visited Henrico for work or  pleasure.

Click here for more information from Henrico County.