Local businesses not quite sure what to expect of Redskins surge

RICHMOND, Va. (WTVR)–While city officials have been preparing for the thousands of people who will descend upon the River City for the Redskins Training Camp over the next three weeks, local businesses say they’re still not sure what to expect.

Thousands of people are expected to visit the facility, with the height of activity occurring on Saturday, August 3rd, when as many as 25,000 fans could show up for Fan appreciation Day.

“I think it’s going to be a nightmare traffic situation,” says Susie Joynes with the River City Diner.  The diner, a popular restaurant on West Broad Street, has a limited number of parking spaces.

While Joynes says they’re eagerly anticipating the Redskins arrival, she says there’s some concern over accommodating loyal customers, especially with parking.

At the Department of Motor Vehicles, just across the street from the training facility, parking will be restricted to DMV employees and customers only and will be monitored by security.

“We’ll also be enforcing towing,” says DMV spokesperson Sunni Brown.

As a precaution, the DMV is canceling all road tests during the three week training camp, and closing its doors on August 3rd.

The Science Museum of Virginia and the Children’s Museum of Richmond will allow the general public to park in the museums’ 400-space parking lot, but says only museum visitors and members will be allowed to park for free.

Richard Conti, director of the science museum, says non-visitors will have to pay a $10 fee.

However, Conti is encouraging all visitors to take advantage of both opportunities.

“We hope they’ll still enjoy the science museum and also see an NFL team getting ready for the season.” Conti says.

REDSKINS 2013 TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE

Date Practice Time
Thursday, July 25 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Friday, July 26 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Saturday, July 27 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Monday, July 29 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Tuesday, July 30 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Wednesday, July 31 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Thursday, August 1 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Friday, August 2 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Saturday, August 3 Fan Appreciation Day – Noon
Monday, August 5 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Tuesday, August 6 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Saturday, August 10 1 p.m. Practice
Monday, August 12 10 a.m. Walkthrough3:20 p.m. Practice
Tuesday, August 13 12:40 p.m. Practice
Wednesday, August 14 12:40 p.m. Practice
Thursday, August 15 12:40 p.m. Practice
Friday, August 16 9:45 a.m. Practice
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,024 other followers