ALERT: Officer shoots suspect who allegedly pointed gun at officers outside Richmond motel

States under federal oversight for voting procedures


By Bill Mears, CNN Supreme Court Producer

WASHINGTON (CNN) — States currently covered by Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, requiring federal approval before any changes in election procedures can take effect:

States covered in full (8):

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas

State covered, with some exceptions (1):

Virginia (31 cities and counties have been “exempted” and are no longer required to submit changes for approval)

States with only limited areas covered (6):

California (3 counties); Florida (5 counties); Michigan (2 townships); New York (3 of New York City’s 5 boroughs); North Carolina (40 of the state’s 100 counties); South Dakota (2 counties)

NOTE: New Hampshire (10 townships) became exempt from Section 5 as of March 2013


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,986 other followers