STAY AHEAD OF STORMS: Download CBS 6 weather app

Samuels elected City Council President, and new members sworn-in

city council logo

Richmond, VA – Changes in City Council today, as members were sworn-in and a new council president elected.

Charles Samuels was elected council President, replacing Kathy Graziano, and new members Parker Agelasto, Jonathan Baliles and Michelle Mosby were sworn-in with the rest of the re-elected members. 

Mayor Dwight C. Jones issued the following statement today on the outcome of the City Council President and Vice President elections.

“I offer my sincere congratulations to all newly sworn-in members of Richmond City Council. Special congratulations go to newly elected Richmond City Council President Charles Samuels and Richmond City Council Vice President Ellen Robertson. Their leadership, foresight and attention to detail will benefit all of us as we continue to work together to address issues in our city. As we enter 2013, our city is poised for great things! We have made much progress and have had many accomplishments over the past four years. I look forward to working with the entire Council as we continue to Build a Better Richmond.

“President Samuels will bring his parliamentary skills and his level judgment to the job. He has a balanced approached to complex problems.

“Vice President Robertson brings her experience and grace under pressure to her continuing role.

“I would like to thank outgoing City Council President Kathy Graziano for her hard work, guidance and expertise as we worked together to make Richmond a Tier One City.”

Filed in: News, Politics

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,835 other followers