WTVR CBS 6 wins three National Edward R. Murrow Awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

RICHMOND, Va. – WTVR CBS 6 News won three National Edward R. Murrow Awards has chosen by the Radio Television Digital News Association. CBS 6 News is the only station in the country to receive three national honors.

“Our news team is proud to receive this highest honor by our peers,” news director Sheryl Barnhouse said. “We strive for excellence in journalism every day, telling the stories that are important to the viewers of Central Virginia.”

WTVR won Murrows for the following reports:

Feature Reporting: I Wish I Was Never Born (Reporter Greg McQuade; photojournalist Jesse Burkett)

Sports Reporting:  Out on the Field (Reporter Lane Casadonte; photojournalist Brad Wilson)

Use of Sound/Video: The Cuban: Strokes of Survival (Reporter Greg McQuade; photojournalist Tim Hawkins)

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in New York on October 6.

“Tribune Broadcasting is extremely proud of WTVR’s hardworking news team and we are honored to have our station recognized nationally for their work by the RTDNA,” Tribune Broadcasting president Larry Wert said.

Last month, eight Tribune Broadcasting television stations were awarded a total of 15 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

1 Comment

  • Robbie

    Congratulations WTVR! The most liberal, anti white news agency in the Richmond area. You would have won that award but hey, BET may honor you yet for something.

Comments are closed.