Gov. halts demonstrations at Lee Monument
Charlottesville mayor: Call emergency GA meeting
TRACK STORMS: Use CBS 6 Interactive Radar

PHOTOS: WTVR CBS 6 honored with 10 Emmy awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SILVER SPRING, Md. — WTVR CBS 6 has been awarded 10 Emmy Awards by the National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences at an award ceremony in Silver Spring, Maryland.

WTVR was honored with 16 nominations — the most of any television station in Central Virginia and won 10, garnering more awards that WBFF, WUSA, WTTG, WJLA, WRIC, WETA, MASN, Comcast Sports Net and Maryland Public Television in the market, with WTVR reporter Greg McQuade winning 5 of the station’s 10 Emmy Awards.

“We are honored to be recognized by our peers. The Emmy’s are a result of a news team which shares a passion for in-depth storytelling and informing viewers what’s important to Central Virginians. These accolades are a shining representation of the outstanding talent, creativity and dedication that thrive at WTVR,” Stephen Hayes, the station’s general manager, said.

The National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences 56th Annual Emmy Awards honor outstanding achievement in the television industry.

The following are WTVR’s 10 Emmy Award wins:

Feature News Report – Serious Feature:  “The Cuban: A Stroke of Survival”

  • Greg McQuade, Reporter;  Tim Hawkins, Photographer

Health/Science News:  “What Happens When You Die?

  • Tracy Sears, Reporter;  Chris Munnings, Photographer

Education:  “Secret School”

  • Lorenzo Hall, Reporter;  Jesse Burkett, Photographer

Historical/Cultural News – Single Story:  “The Most Hated Woman in Virginia”

  • Greg McQuade, Reporter;  Jesse Burkett, Photographer

Historical/Cultural program:  “JFK at 50: Witness to History”

  • Greg McQuade, Reporter;  Jesse Burkett, Photographer;  Michael Bergazzi, Producer

“I Wish I Was Never Born: JFK’s Haunted Secret Service Agent”

  • Greg McQuade, Reporter;  Jesse Burkett, Photographer;  Michael Bergazzi, Producer

Weather Anchor:  Zach Daniel

Morning Newscast
October 17th 6 a.m. Newscast

  • Chris Westfall, Producer
  • Pierce Sharpe, Producer
  • Lauren Mackey, Senior Producer
  • Reba Hollingsworth, Anchor
  • Lamar Person, Photographer
  • Rob Cardwell, Anchor
  • Bill Anderson, News Director
  • Jerrita Patterson, Reporter
  • Jake Burns, Reporter/Photographer

Writer – News:  “A Dark Day in Dallas”

  • Greg McQuade, Reporter

Photographer:  “No Time Limit”

  • Timothy Hawkins

WTVR has also been awarded three National Edward R. Murrow awards.  That ceremony will be held on Oct. 6 in New York.